Weekly Quotes To Ponder 21

I won’t let this day pass without writing a post for our ‘Weekly Quotes To Ponder‘ feature. I am even excited to share my thoughts about a certain quote I encountered recently while browsing Facebook.

change

Oftentimes, people would say that if someone really loves a man or a woman they will change their wicked ways or strive hard to be a better person to be worthy of their love or affection. I’ve had that same notion before. I even came into a point where I told a boyfriend that I would definitely end our relationship if he would not stop smoking. This boyfriend of mine did stopped smoking (when I’m around). Yes, you read it right. I’ve caught him still doing it. Then I realized that it is useless to threat him to change for himself, for me, and for  us.

messy

*Google image

Too often than not, we are quick to judge others and speak ill of them unaware that we are also guilty of the same thing. When I read about the quote above, it reminds me of the truth that the biggest battle that we have to win everyday is the battle within ourselves. This quote also helped me to be more understanding of others imperfections and shortcomings. I am now milder to myself and others and I’m happy about it.

How about you? What is your thought about this? I’d be glad if you share it with me. Thank you!

 

 

 

 

 

11 thoughts on “Weekly Quotes To Ponder 21

  1. I would agree that we can’t change others. It’s not even our place to try. We need to accept others as they are. I think that once we accept ourselves, it becomes easier.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m not too much into quotes, but this one really caught my attention. It’s so spot on…! Outch. I used to be a great “improver”, trying to make others change for their own good. As you might guess, nope, didn’t work. I’m now in the trying to change myself business. And as you might guess, not that easy either. But at least it’s up to me. 🙂 Just as it is up to others to change themselves, or not. Took me a few decades years to realize…

    Like

  3. So true! It’s easy to want to try and change others, the only real change is within ourselves. “Be the change you want to see in the world” – Mahatma Gandhi … #GraceAndSpace 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

