Weekly Quotes To Ponder 6

 

Greetings wonderful people! Time for our weekly reflections again. Truth is, I have to stretch my thoughts to come up with something worth sharing and worth pondering. Please don’t think that I am not excited because I am. It’s just that there’s so many things that’s going on in my life these days, ninety nine percent is not pleasant, I should say with a sigh. But I’m fine. My flesh is weak but my spirit is renewed everyday, thank God!

forgive3

Writing an article about forgiveness is something I have been aching since year 2005. I have read so many articles about this topic to widen my perspective and to condense all information to give justice to my post ( I am a kind of person who seldom challenge myself and in reality, I’d rather stay with my comfort zone). I’ve had a hard time convincing myself that I don’t need to bite more than I could chew.

 

Everyone makes mistakes but that doesn’t mean
they have to pay for them for the rest of their life. 

Sometimes good people make bad choices.
It doesn’t mean they are bad,
it means they are humans.

 

forgive2How would you define forgiveness? According to an article Greater Good, Psychologists generally define forgiveness as a conscious, deliberate decision to release feelings of resentment or vengeance toward a person or group who has harmed you, regardless of whether they actually deserve your forgiveness. Forgiveness brings the forgiver peace of mind and frees him or her from corrosive anger. While there is some debate over whether true forgiveness requires positive feelings toward the offender, experts agree that it at least involves letting go of deeply held negative feelings. In that way, it empowers you to recognize the pain you suffered without letting that pain define you, enabling you to heal and move on with your life.

forgive4.png

Well, I guess I don’t need to further elaborate what forgiveness means. But in my own perspective, forgiveness is not only something we do to others but more for  ourselves. When we sincerely forgive, we free ourselves from the bondage of bitterness and resentment. Thus, making room for more positive feelings.

How about you? Do you easily forgive someone who did you wrong? Or it depends on the gravity of the offense? Do you agree that holding a grudge is one of the worst feelings a person could have? You may want to share your thoughts about this. Thank you!

 

 

10 thoughts on “Weekly Quotes To Ponder 6

  1. I don’t easily forgive. I forgive and of course the ease would be determined by the offense. If it is particularly egregious I just forgive and move on. Some people are temporary fillers in your book of life.

    Liked by 1 person

    • To forgive others easily, you have to take it by faith. God is merciful and forgiving. While we don’t deserve His mercy and forgiveness, He’s more than willing to give it soon as He sees our sincerity and humbleness.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

