Cry If You Must

Sad.jpg

*I don’t own this image

Being betrayed by someone you love is one of the most painful blow that you might experience in this life. How would you deal with this? What’s your first step to at least pacify yourself?

For some, they consider crying as a sign of weakness. But for me, it’s the other way around. Crying or shedding tears is even a stress-reliever.

According to the Minnesota study, crying can help to wash chemicals linked to stress out of our body, one of the reasons we feel much better after a good cry. Higher levels of adrenocorticotrophic (ACTH) have been found in emotional tears (compared to reflex tears).

Removing this chemical from the body is beneficial because it triggers cortisol, the stress hormone – too much of which can lead to health problems associated with stress.

‘Crying can help release tension and stress, as well as expressing emotions,’ says Dr Abigael San, chartered clinical psychologist.

‘When you’re upset and stressed, you have an imbalance and build up of chemicals in the body and crying helps to reduce that.’

Tears1

* I don’t own this image

No wonder I feel a lot better after I cried out all my sadness and frustrations. I will never be ashamed to see my eyes filled with tears at times. It actually washes away all the negative feelings I have inside and makes me feel detoxified and ready to move forward positively.  It is one way to take care of myself.

Some wounds cannot be healed quickly. We must give it its own time. In the meantime, let’s appreciate the lessons we’ve learned from it – to mourn for the loss, to accept what happened, to forgive ourselves, and to hope. For the best is yet to come…

 

2 thoughts on “Cry If You Must

Leave a Reply

