A penny for my thoughts

” I didn’t want to, I don’t intend to, and I really hate myself for what I did…but I can’t help it.”

These words keeps on reverberating in my head. The more I ignore it the more it sticks in me, and I’m afraid it is starting to overcome me. I need to do something to get out of this mess!

 

Why do people lie?

According to University of Massachusetts psychologist, Robert Feldman : “It’s tied in with self-esteem, we find that as soon as people feel that their self-esteem is threatened, they immediately begin to lie at higher levels.” The farther one’s true self is from their ideal self, the more likely they are to lie to boost themselves up, in others’ eyes or their eyes… or perhaps how they perceive others to perceive them.

 

Well, personally I do small lies to avoid conflict or to protect someone’s feelings of getting hurt or getting upset. I think these are the top motivators for deception. But no matter what the intentions or reasons behind lying, it is still a sin.

 

The Bible says in James 3:8, “But no human being can tame the tongue. It is a restless evil, full of deadly poison.”


The tongue can be the most wicked weapon on earth, so use it wisely and speak your words with caution. As Christians, we shouldn’t fill our lives with deceit. But, since we are all humans, sometimes it is hard to avoid lying. The option to lie should not be in a Christian’s life; we should always speak the truth no matter what the end result may be. And besides there is always a way to being honest without being brutal.

LIE6

 

Easier said than done. We all know that saying the truth is one of the hardest things in life. It takes a lot of guts and determination to stand with what is true. Maybe because most of us would rather stay in our comfort zone and avoid conflict that take some risk and cause bad feelings to others. Oftentimes, we don’t really intend to lie to someone but because we prejudged their reactions towards the truth that we’re going to tell them it compels us to say a lie. I have done it several times. And believe me, every time I did, I always get the worst feeling a person could feel in this world and that is FEAR.

So next time you want to lie, ask yourself first…is it worth all the troubles? IT IS NOT!!!

 

5 thoughts on “A penny for my thoughts

  1. Great post. I think I lie for Mr. Feldmen’s reasons–when my true self is too far away from my ideal self and telling the truth would expose that. That’s my personal life anyway…work is a whole other story. I’m in a business of deception. Check my profile sometime. I also get mad at myself when I lie and don’t just set boundaries or skip over the question. People aren’t entitled to know things about me and if I’m too uncomfortable I don’t need to answer. You’re right, lying’s a bad way to handle it.

    Like

  2. Exactly! One thing more, we should not think that we are inferior to others no matter how great their life may seem. We don’t know what they’ve been through or they’re going through.

    Like

Leave a Reply

